map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Fabulous staff, location and food

Lynn Baxter 13 March 2017
from Windsor

View all 465 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 465 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (325)
  • views (303)
  • lunch (206)
  • romantic (162)
  • luxury (142)
  • business (116)
  • value (104)
  • private dining (94)
  • afternoon tea (77)
  • large parties (64)
  • trendy (54)
  • child friendly (32)
  • breakfast (29)
  • entertainment (24)
  • al fresco (6)
  • ((((( 9 March 2017 by Sarah Thomas from London

    Lovely place, great staff and the food was delicious. Only criticism I have is that it was a little hard to find!

  • (((** 7 March 2017 by Nicky Mercer from City of Westminster

    The surroundings were lovely, the staff especially our Portuguese waiter was wonderful, friendly and offered amazing customer service. The evening was very enjoyable, but unfortunately the four of us had the steak and the meat was tough and not enjoyable.

    The drinks (especially the wine) are far to expensive.

  • ((((( 6 March 2017 by Lee Munns from London

    Very good, went for set menu. Such a great view Shame the weather wasn't better. The complimentary Yorkshire pudding with cheese in middle was a nice touch.

  • ((((( 6 March 2017 by Cheryl Fernandes from London

    It was our friend's birthday and we decided to dine at Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar on Saturday 4th March to celebrate.
    We chose the 3 courses & a cocktail menu.

    As we had to wait for a member of our party to arrive, the staff welcomed us in and advised that it would be fine for us to wait in the bar area.
    As soon as our party was complete we were then shown to our table.

    The venue was beautiful and the view was lovely, especially at night when London was all lit up.

    The menu choices were fabulous and such good value; I went for the smoked trout, steak & chips and lemon meringue pie.
    It was absolutely delicious.
    I had never had smoked trout before but I really enjoyed it. My steak was nicely done and presented well.
    The highlight for me, though, was the lemon meringue pie. It was more of a deconstructed lemon meringue - there was no pie! I have quite a sweet tooth anyway but the way that this was presented and served almost made me not want to eat it!!! However, it was simply out of this world - so tasty.

    The staff at the restaurant and especially Tiago really made our overall experience a fantastically enjoyable one.
    They were lovely; friendly, smiley and approachable. He could not be more helpful and when I mentioned about it being a birthday he and his colleague even brought out a macaroon with a candle in it - such a lovely gesture that really went a long way.

    I would definitely recommend Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar and can't wait to go back to visit again.

  • ((((* 5 March 2017 by Simon Henser from Hertford

    Fantastic view from our table over looking the Thames there is a great atmosphere in the restuarant. My Wife and I with our two children of 8 and 7 had a lovely evening.

    The food was good the children had the pea soup while my Wife and I had the Salmon to start followed by the Sea Bass and Steaks which were very tasty.

    The staff were very nice and we had a very good night.

  • ((((* 5 March 2017 by Karen Carson from London

    Lovely setting , attentive staff, food was excellent we had 3 course set menu . They made us feel very welcome even brought out lovely cake for my friends birthday. Wine was fabulous . It's not often you can give a restaurant an all over 10/10 for everything from food , service , ambience and drink . Will definitely be back thankyou veryy

  • ((((( 5 March 2017 by Joss Green from Twickenham

    Imposing entrance, the venue made it an occasion to remember.Impressive decor and views onto the Thames. Excellent friendly service. Food was fantastic, Would recommend the poached pear starter and chicken as mains.

  • ((((* 5 March 2017 by Marc Ainsworth from Sandhurst

    The starter and main course were excellent the desert was average and the service was attentive.

  • ((((( 4 March 2017 by Tate Sanborn from London

    Great gin and tonic! Food, atmosphere, and staff were all amazing. Highly recommended if your in London and staying nearby.

  • ((((( 1 March 2017 by Jayne Topham from Leicester

    Lovely food and great service.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant