map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Fantastic meal , waiting staff were amazing and so friendly. Would definitely go back.

Hazel Mustoe 16 May 2017
from London

View all 549 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 549 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (376)
  • views (347)
  • lunch (255)
  • romantic (180)
  • luxury (165)
  • business (134)
  • value (127)
  • private dining (105)
  • afternoon tea (91)
  • large parties (75)
  • trendy (63)
  • child friendly (36)
  • breakfast (32)
  • entertainment (27)
  • al fresco (8)
  • ((((( 11 May 2017 by Jane Powell from London

    Excellent quality food served by friendly staff. On arriving we were served drinks in the bar by a very knowledgable and extremely courteous young man. A credit to the team.
    Our starter of duck liver pate was dreamy. Followed by steak cooked to perfection medium rare and the chocolate pot dessert superb. The drinks were in my opinion very expensive but the food was very good value for money.
    I would certainly visit again.

  • ((((( 10 May 2017 by David Baker from London

    The restaurant is easy to find entering via The Marriott. Staff there very welcoming and actually showed us to the restaurant door. Impressive. Nice bar area with comforatble seating where we had a cocktail as we were 20 minutes early. We then took the half-finished cocktail with us to the restaurant and were greeted by name, even though I'd not told anyone who we were. Guesswork or initiative? Don't know, but it made an excellent first impression. Food was absolutely superb as was the setting overlooking the river and the London Eye. Service was attentive without being intrusive and overall and most enjoyable meal and whole experience.

  • ((((( 9 May 2017 by Hedley Sutton from London

    Great meal - only minus point was that the venue was a bit difficult to find!

  • ((((( 9 May 2017 by Frances Bailey from London

    All the staff were excellent and welcoming with good knowledge of the menu and suggestions, had a problem with one of our party having to leave before the meal was over and the kitchen had been delayed so the cost of their meal was removed and a further 30%taken of the bill. Overall the food was good and the staff superb and the glitch with the kitchen didn't ruin the night at all.

  • ((((( 8 May 2017 by Susan Morgans from West Wickham

    Bookatable deal meant value for money. Excellent dining experience in feel good surroundings both inside building ,restaurant and view overlooking river. Attentive efficient service. Nouvelle cuisine three course meal very tasty. Sea bass delicious. Friends steak looked nad tasted superb.

  • ((((( 7 May 2017 by Sarah Hillman from Buckingham

    We had an absolutely brilliant evening at Gillray's. The location, decor was really great and the service was so welcoming but not intrusive.
    We all enjoyed our delicious food and the complimentary Appetisers. The waiter was so helpful and brought two beautiful plates for the two birthday girls with lovely desert treats on.
    We were made to feel welcome in a beautiful surroundings and didn't feel hassled to hurry.
    Would definitely go again!

  • (((** 7 May 2017 by Linda Newman from Leicester

    Service good but waitress got our wines mixed up, went for the market menu I had pate - delicious, partner had smoked trout also delicious. However no sooner had the waiter taken our plates away our main was served, would have liked to have a 10 minute break between courses. We both went for medium-rare rib eye, which was small but perfectly cooked and tasty but both were very fatty and gristly. Desserts were super. Restaurant had a lovely atmosphere, and nice views. Only given 3 stars as it is a steakhouse and we felt it was the steak that let it down.

  • ((((* 7 May 2017 by Sam Clemens from London

    Good food, friendly service.

  • ((((( 7 May 2017 by Ann Smart from Tenterden

    Excellent service and food. Nice surprise having the extra starter of Yorkshire pudding especially as we were all from Yorkshire. Very pleasant decor and view.

  • ((((* 7 May 2017 by Pauline Fisher from Rochester

    Lovely venue and staff were excellent

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant