map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Location fantastic, restaurant stunning, food yummy and service was great with friendly and attentive staff

Laura Guise 01 April 2017
from City of Westminster

View all 491 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 491 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (345)
  • views (316)
  • lunch (223)
  • romantic (167)
  • luxury (150)
  • business (124)
  • value (112)
  • private dining (98)
  • afternoon tea (80)
  • large parties (66)
  • trendy (60)
  • child friendly (36)
  • breakfast (30)
  • entertainment (26)
  • al fresco (6)
  • ((((* 16 April 2017 by Steven Williams from Titchfield

    Excellent value for money, superb location and views over Westminster.

  • ((((( 11 April 2017 by Susan Delves from Stoke-on-Trent

    Booked 3 course lunch with free cocktail although didn't arrange to eat until 4.30. Arrived at about 3.30 and sat in the 'bar' and enjoyed a cocktail in the lovely surroundings. Went to dine at booked time and enjoyed lovely meal. We were given a free taster of a Yorkshire pudding filled with grated cheese with a dip of horseradish, creme fraiche and chives which was divine. We then had our starter which was pears in red wine with blue cheese and pecan nuts - delicious. This was followed by ribeye steak that melted in your mouth and three times cooked chips that were well worth the calories!!! My dessert was lemon meringue but not as I expected but the sticky toffee pudding was scrumptious!! We then had our signature cocktail which was very enjoyable. We then returned to tha 'bar' to enjoy another drink. The staff were very attentive and the service was faultless. It was a lovely experience and would recommend to other people and would happily return.

  • ((((* 3 April 2017 by Maddie Rule from London

    The best thing about the restaurant was the food. The service was very good and we were pleased with the complimentary starter. The atmosphere was ok, a bit of background music would have made it better. I requested a table with the best view of big ben etc but I was a little disappointed.

  • ((((( 1 April 2017 by Laura Guise from City of Westminster

    Location fantastic, restaurant stunning, food yummy and service was great with friendly and attentive staff

  • ((((( 30 March 2017 by Clark Edwards from Derby

    I did visit the restaurant for Lunch today with some friends from abroad. My party was very impressed with the views of the Parliament and Big Ben. We had their set menu which was fantastic. I recommend it.


  • ((((( 29 March 2017 by Terence Firth from Leeds

    The food was well prepared and presented to perfection

  • ((*** 28 March 2017 by Emily from London

    Unfortunately the service was very slow and inattentive. After being seated it was a long time before we were acknowledged by a waiter and it was almost an hour after we had finished our starters before the mains arrived.

    We had the sea bass, which was good, however the rib-eye steak was very tough and the chips were over-cooked and hollow.

    The decor is nice and it's a good location, however, difficult to find if you are not expecting to go into the Marriott Hotel itself (which we weren't).

    Disappointing overall.

  • (((** 28 March 2017 by T Wilson from London

    Good food. But poor service. Waited an hour between the starter and the main course. And we werent the only ones.Not great for mums day lunch. Good food when it came I guess.. But by then I was a bit over it.its a shame.. lovely interior and view.. to be fair they reduced our bill as a goodwill gesture ..but a shame about the service.

  • ((((* 28 March 2017 by Anne Coomb from London

    Excellent

  • ((((( 27 March 2017 by Lynn Fitzharris from York

    Booking so easy on the train down to London. Chose restaurant for location near to Tate Britain. The service was excellent, the location perfect with a view over the Thames in lovely County Hall and the food was sublime. We had Yorkshire pudding as an extra starter, followed by pate served in an egg shell with sweet onion chutney on an open egg box. Gorgeous. Followed by the best steak & chips. Desert was choc pot with salted caramel and shortbread. We drank a complementary Proseco cocktail followed by a quality glass of red wine. Perfect.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant